New Digs

1 Jul

Whew! Is it really already July?! What a whirlwind of a week. Or really a year! We closed on our first home on Monday, and started the whole moving process. Tuesday I thought we had been re-connected with cable and internet, but Comcast had a “mysterious, rare” technical issue that cut off my services for most of Wednesday and Thursday and I had to fight to get them turned back on. Needless to say, we’ll be shopping for a new provider asap. Coupled with some preterm contractions I started having on Wednesday that required a not-so-quick hospital visit and some fun shots to stop this baby up, it’s been a bit busy around here! No worries, mama and baby are 100% fine, and ready to cook this kiddo for a few more weeks. So now I’m camped out on the couch, and finally ready to share some pics of our new digs! Let’s hit it from the top.

When you walk into the house, you’re greeted by an angled entryway into the super large, vaulted living room.

We have a huge wall to fill with something, but at least our couch now feels appropriately sized! We’re also going to swap out the fans in most of the house here with the ones we bought and are at the old house.

My piano is right at home next to our awesomely huge fireplace. We plan on giving it a coat of paint, and getting the tv mounted above the mantle.

Just off the living room is the tiled dining room, and the kitchen bar. We really like the light fixtures here, so they’ll be staying.

There’s a door here that goes out to a covered patio and gated yard area, which we plan on making into an outdoor dog-free entertaining area.

Finishing off our open concept space is the large kitchen. I love this kitchen. A lot.

The cabinets will need a little love (maybe paint? Refinishing? New doors?) and we’re toying around with new counter tops. But for now, it’s perfect.

We’re still waiting on our refrigerator, which should be delivered on Monday. We borrowed a friend’s mini-fridge to tide us through in the meantime. The rest of the appliances were included. You can catch a sneak peek of our incredibly messy laundry room through the door there.

My dream of a farmhouse sink may be ended. But the bright side is we finally have a garbage disposal again! I haven’t had one in over two years.

Our laundry room is a hot mess, please forgive me. I cleaned what I could until I just got wiped out, so there are a few pockets of extreme moving messiness.

This is going to be a fun room to work on. The bones are great, so really it’s all going to be cosmetic. Should we have shelving or cabinets? What paint color? I can’t wait to start brainstorming!

Off the laundry room, we have the garage, and our converted garage spare bedroom. The one quirk on this room is the bulkhead, door and window.

The bulkhead is there because the garage door actually still works. There’s about 3-5 feet of space behind the door and window before the garage door. This way, it still looks like a 2-car garage, and if we ever want to turn it back into one, it would be easy. I actually prefer it this way, as I’m not a fan of the whole “converted garage” look from the outside. This room is perfect as a guest room, office and craft storage.

Our daybed had to stay at the old place. My SIL and I built it into the room, and didn’t build it in a way that we can take it apart and still salvage it. I’m actually fine with this. The trundle now fits below the bed rails that were already in this garage, and the room fits a king-sized bed once it’s pulled out. Perfect for hosting guests!

I can’t wait to have fun with this room. It’s painted concrete flooring (my fav) and I think I’d love to try out some stenciling. The wainscoting needs a little love, but once it’s bright white and lovely, I can have fun with the top half of the room’s color. So much opportunity!

Backtracking into the greatroom, you enter the hallway off the dining area. This leads straight into the shared second bathroom.

It’s quite large with a double sink. The updates here are all cosmetic, and we can’t wait to start giving it a little love.

There’s a door with the toilet and shower behind it.

We set up a lot of the nursery furniture, even though we still want to paint the walls the same teal it was at the old house. My sisters-in-law did the placement themselves, and I don’t think it’ll be staying this way. Especially not the crib in front of the window.

This room is huge. Absolutely massive. And the closet? Holy cow.

Lots and lots of baby stuff can fit in here!

To the right, we have a large hallway closet. So, we’re definitely good on storage here! Plus it seems the previous owners were huge fans of bi-fold doors.

This master bedroom is also huge. I don’t know what to do with all the space! Plus we have some snazzy mirrored closet doors. Which is currently hiding my explosion of clothing yet to be organized and put up.

One step at a time.

There’s a large picture window, and a door that leads onto a small covered patio in the larger portion of the backyard. My one issue here is that there’s no door to the bathroom, and just a small bi-fold to the toilet area of the room. For a couple who has previously been quite private with each other during “toilet time”, it’s a little disquieting. I’m thinking some sort of door addition will be in order here soon!

Again with the double sinks, and large vanity. Lots of good space.

Our garden, whirlpool tub could use a little refinishing, but it’s so nice to have this much space! Not to mention two toilets. I never realized how tough only having one bathroom was until we lived in the Southern Oaks house. It’s pretty inconvenient, to be sure. So enough with the inside, let’s check out the yard!

Here’s the covered patio off the dining area. This is where we want to really spruce the place up and have a great entertaining space.

My husband wants to add paver stones and a pergola. I’m just excited that it’s separate from the larger, dog portion of the yard. This way, we can shut the gate and take Charlie outside to play without fear of her stepping in poo or getting bowled over.

Here’s a shot leading into the rest of the yard. It’s actually quite well shaded.

We have two mature trees, which is amazing, and a “man shed”, as my husband calls it. He wants to add a window a/c unit, with a desk to do his ammunition stuff. You know, because all guys love to recycle their own ammo.

The yard continues around the other side of the house, and you can see our master patio area. I’d like to put some sort of seating here, sometime in the future. We also have a lovely flowering shrub. Once we dig up our fruit trees from the old yard, we’ll have to find a good spot to plant them here.

Well that’s it! This post has taken me about an hour to write, and probably just as long for you to read. It’s the perfect first home for us. All the major repairs have been done (new a/c, foundation, and roof) so now we can save up our money to do the fun stuff. The cosmetic stuff. We can enjoy ourselves and take our time making this new house into a home. A home we’re starting a family in, and hopefully will enjoy for many years to come. I can’t wait to get started!!

 

6 Responses to “New Digs”

  1. Amanda July 1, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    It’s beautiful! It has so much potential and I can see you doing some amazing things there! Congrats!

  2. Catherine July 1, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    The house looks amazing!! It’s so big!!!! I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  3. Jennielee July 1, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    congratulations!! The house is great!

  4. Megan July 1, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    How are you going to refinish the tub/shower? I have one that could use some help, the home is about 33 years old. The caulking and grout on the tiles is almost all gone. Excited to see what you do!

  5. Stacia July 2, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    Congratulations! It’s a beautiful house, and I can’t wait to see what you do with it. I applaud you for showing the “moving mess” – although it’s really not that bad!

    P.S. I didn’t comment on the other post – but, ugh! I can’t believe someone would steal your idea, your photos, say those things, – the entire episode is just ridiculous. And I’m sorry!

  6. Stephanie Brooks July 2, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    You go girl!! I can’t believe you just moved in and have unpacked so much! Cant wait to see what you guys do:-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

