Knocked Off: Kennel End Table

14 Mar

Woohoo! It’s finally done! After months and months of dreaming, I actually built the Kennel End Table from the goddess Ana White.  It certainly wasn’t my cheapest project, clocking in at a cool 70 bucks. But it was certainly worth the high return it gave me in classic design.

I really splurged on the hinges, and gate closure. I love how cleanly it snaps shut. It fits one fifty pound dog comfortably, with just enough room to turn around and stand up, but still snug enough to make her feel comfy. I love it so much more than our old wire kennel, because it fits in with our whole bedroom style. Take a look:

P.S How kickass is it that my entire bedroom is hand-built?! I’m patting myself on the back right now. We built our bed and nightstand together, then I built the bench with my bridesmaids, and the kennel with Bestie C. I have a room full of memories, attached to furniture that will last a lifetime.

I love that the newest addition finally gives me a nightstand option. I plan to decorate the area a little more fully, but I’m not sure with what yet. Perhaps a tray? That could be cute. I’ll have to play around. Here’s a fun little visual of our guy side / girl side.

Guy Side

Girl Side

I love that mine has a lot more stuff in it! Hee hee. Our bedroom is finally getting the final look fleshed out, and the kennel is definitely a great new addition.

7 Responses to “Knocked Off: Kennel End Table”

  1. Clare March 14, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Thank you so much for posting about this and the link to the other site! I needed this!

  2. bienliving March 15, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    I love it! I would like to make (oh, who am I kidding? BUY) one of these as well!

    • killer b. March 16, 2011 at 1:38 am #

      Too bad we don’t live closer to each other. I would totally be the Amy Wynn to your Genevieve. If you haven’t seen copious episodes of Trading Spaces, then I’ll translate: I’d love to be your dedicated carpenter for all your awesome room designs!

  3. Sarah G March 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Love this! I wanted to buy one forever ago, but they are ridiculously expensive. They do make a great alternative to the eyesore that is our giant wire crate.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Hand-Built Home: Master Bedroom « Killer b. - March 18, 2011

    [...] Kennel End Table. [...]

  2. Vintage TV Makeover « Killer b. - March 25, 2011

    [...] from my Waco apartment and the bedroom itself. We had some spare 1/4 inch thick plywood from my kennel project, and the chalkboard quart of paint that just keeps on tickin’. Here is my beautiful, [...]

  3. A Hand-Built Home: Kitchen, Living Room & Bathroom « Killer b. - June 7, 2011

    [...] bucks, we’ve made 2 beds, 2 benches, a changing table, a desk, 3 shelves, 2 bookcases, a kennel, 2 nightstands, a closet organizer, a step-stool, a rocker makeover, a dining table, a kitchen [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

